End of Year Degree Show Evening

Tomorrow should be an odd day to be back at Uni. The end of year degree show evening is from 6-8pm and will be the first time that people outside of the immediate University environment will have seen the offerings from this years graduates, myself included. It’ll be great to see everybody’s work up and completed, showcasing the fantastic cross section of skills and talent that I think my year has to offer the world. Hopefully, other people will share this opinion..!

During the earlier part of the day, I cannot say that I am particularly pleased to report that I was informed that my Dissertation was chosen as one of those submitted to the external examiner. I’m unsure whether this does not have the ability to impact on the mark that I have already received (a shocking 83 that sits far further into the First boundary than I would have hoped for), but I’m sure there are materials in the UCA student archives that can advise me one way or the other. Of course, this means that the monstrous beast of an essay that I thought I had slain, will be making one last pass to darkening its final morning. Like most people in my year I have forgotten most of the contents of my Dissertation by now, which is shocking considering the comparative time I must have spent working on it! But at least I can now read through it again tomorrow morning before the meeting, with a grasp of my argument, new perspective and some new criticisms of it all.

I’d like to say my luck holds out until the end of the week, but allowing for a break on Wednesday, I find myself back in Uni for external assessment once again- this time for my major project. Given my very fresh thoughts, misgivings and alterations to this project I am a little more anxious about this meeting but once again, I am sure that a dose of positive hindsight and clear explanation will make use of itself if needed.

Due to the timing of it all, this unfortunately means missing the opening night of the exhibition at the Proud Gallery. I’m rather disappointed since it means that I won’t get to know the work, mingle and meet the photographer, but as this was always possible I can’t say I wasn’t forewarned.

So while I’m looking forward to tomorrow night and celebrating in the Union bar, it looks like I’ll have to make the most of it being sandwiched between a couple of less celebratory events.

Leave a Reply

