Over Thyme

Firstly, please pardon the atrocious title. I think the summer sun has got the better of me. And I’ve had alot of exposure to that today!

As part of my Final Major Project, a large portion of my supporting material for my submission display was actually alive. By which I mean, was a selection of plant varieties that would be appropriate for the proposed project. Unfortunately the combination of being left to its own devices in an unattended room at Uni and the freakishly hot weather we have been having the last week, my work was not in the best of states when I was able to get in and tend to it. This called for an SOS mission in time for the evening exhibition of work on campus!

While I had a sinking feeling I would not be seeing some of it again, the large arrangement of thyme that I had made was able to be saved in parts, and the most likely candidates were saved by extracting and soaking in the shade. While it isn’t nearly as bushy as I loved its predecessor for being, it does now look much happier in itself from most angles. Obviously, its not a miracle fix but when I take it home again after the exhibition I’ll have much more of an opportunity to give it the TLC it deserves for being in such an odd arrangement.
The smaller sedum arrangement that accompanied it and was intended to be an indication of the type of textures that I wanted my proposed project to capture, unfortunately suffered a similar fate. While not as bad as its counterpart, a similar process of rebuilding, replacing and replanting actually gave me the opportunity to add more colour and different textures to the arrangement. I haven’t quite got used to the Mk 2 appearances of either yet, but I suppose this is the major pitfall of making work of this nature! Each replacement plant costs money, but as an unexpected bonus for Free Range in London, the turf piece that I shaped and planted a couple of months ago is going berserk in its trough and will look fantastic to display my guidebook, logo and blurb. I’m looking to also stick some sticks with clips or wire holders in the turf, to hold some business cards in a more fun way to supplement a small box. At least I can do that without punishing the family patio.

Ah well, another day, another sunburn in the line of work!

—–

I can’t believe how busy I’m not at the moment- compared to being rushed off my feet a couple of months ago! Its difficult to know how best to use my time in the brief limbo between now and not only getting more hours at work, but starting my volunteer position in the Proud Gallery.

Ah yes. I don’t believe I blogged about that little gem! After applying with not so much expectation of a reply, I was fortunate enough to be called to interview and was even more so to be told they would be happy to have me. Unpaid, yes. But I think it’ll be a fascinating and fun place to get some experience in the running, organisation and behind-the-scenes work of a gallery environment. Did I mention it was in Camden?! When I read the ad, it was something I didn’t think I could pass up without trying. Things look so fresh and contemporary creative in there, hopefully I can make myself useful!  I’ll put another entry up with the details and the blurb from the website after this one, for anybody who might be interested in swinging by the newly refurbished gallery space.

Leave a Reply

